Dorm/Room Tour

Hi all!

I’m using today to catch up on some blog posts, so here is post number 2 for today! As mentioned before, I’m staying at the Prince House – Shui Yuan (太子學舍水源舍區) dorm, which is usually for international and exchange students.

This dorm offers both singles and doubles (I’m currently in a single), so the first thing you see when you walk in are a closet and meter. The closet space is pretty big, so you can fit a lot of stuff in there! I personally felt like putting my luggage near my bed so it’s easier for me to rummage through my clothes for now, haha. The plastic bags you see below are for my bed – which I’ll get to in a little bit! I’m only staying for two months, but I also have some cheap hangars if I need to use them. For the meter, you simply insert your meter card into the slot on the right, and then you can use however much water and electricity that you need. You can see the amount of money that’s loaded onto your card, and if you need to add more money, you can do so at the front desk.

The next thing you would see is the bathroom – it’s a bit snug in size, but it gets the job done. A few things to note if I were to ever stay here again:

  1. Make sure your bathroom is clean before using it: To be quite honest, my bathroom was actually kind of dirty when I first walked in – there was stuff on the mirror, and some dirt in a few places. My mom and I did some shopping and got some clorox wipes, so it didn’t take too long. There are a lot of convenience stores in Taiwan/Gong guan, so you can find whatever you need at a somewhat affordable price.
  2. Toilet paper/Tissue Paper is not provided: There are even some buildings on campus that don’t have toilet paper in the bathrooms, so you have to prepare some on your own. Where I attend school, my dorm has community bathrooms – so toilet paper is usually stocked all the time. I’ve also noticed that many people buy toilet paper/tissue paper in bulk here (Pretty affordable as well).

Finally, here’s where everything else is – apologies that there’s stuff everywhere! I still had some stuff to clean up that day. We’re given a mini-fridge, book shelf, shoe rack, desk, air conditioning unit, and a bed. A few things to note:

  1. You can’t access the wifi with your computer: You have to get an ethernet cable in order to connect to the internet in your room. They provided one for me for my program specifically (the green wire in the second image), but you have to either have your own, or buy it from the front desk. Another interesting thing is that for some reason, the front desk staff gave me instructions for connecting to the internet with a PC computer (PCs seem to be more popular in Taiwan than macbooks). While that’s great for everyone else, I have an apple laptop, so I have to get someone to take a look at my computer sometime this week.
  2. You’re only provided with the bed frame for your bed: My room did not come with a mattress at all, and I think that’s a common thing with every room in this building. Because I’m only here for two months, my study abroad program provided all of the bedding materials for us to use [pillow, mattress, bedsheets, duvet] – otherwise you’re going to have to get your own either from home or purchase it from the front desk. I think the policy is really stupid in my honest opinion, but that’s just how things work here. The mattress itself isn’t the softest thing in the world, but it’s manageable.
  3. You have a telephone in your dorm: I don’t think I’m going to use it, but it is available if needed.

And that’s about it! I’ve lived in single dorms back in UIUC, but there are definitely differences between the two housing systems. If there were two things that I would to change, it would be how we access internet in our rooms, and the electricity/water meter card (Have it deduct a certain amount each time you insert your card in rather than slowly decrease over time, depending on how much you use of course). But overall, not too bad!

All the best,

Cassie

One thought on “Dorm/Room Tour

Leave a Reply

